Beren and Lúthien diptych

Finally done: Beren and Lúthien for Becky Dillon.

11 thoughts on “Beren and Lúthien diptych

  1. When a saw the sketches ma first thought was something like “aha, so many leaves, she’ll have to use green again !”. But I see you avoided that… and I must admin this golden forest is gorgeous. It’s sweet and bright in the same time. I love it !

  2. I just wrote up my description of this for my next monthly Tolkien Transactions and thought I’d share it here as well:

    “One of the few (if not actually the first) pictures of Lúthien or Arwen that manages to convey to me a sense of a greater-than-life beauty. Dolfen manages (in my inexpert opinion) to strike that delicate balance between being too indistinct to convey anything beyond “young female” and being too distinct so that the beholder cannot impose on Lúthien her or his own idea of perfect beauty. Beren, while shabbily clothed, appears to have found a good barber after his months in the wild (one who has left him fashionably stubbled) — but perhaps I should not complain too loudly lest I am accused of envy ;-) “

  3. Pingback: Thanksblogging « The Warden's Walk

  4. Truly incredible. I look at them daily and know that I hold true beauty in my hands. I can hardly wait to see them on the wall! Vielen vielen VIELEN Dank, Jenny!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,948 other followers

