Facebook off, Blogspot on.

Yesterday, I rediscovered this blogspot address that I’d set up way back in 2009. I’d never done anything with it, though I wanted to. A good thing it was there though – it was keeping the username warm!
At the same time, I found myself getting more and more exasperated by Facebook. I was getting too many FB invitations from people who’d just have added me to their four hundred twenty-six other friends (and I, them, to my eighty-three). I was getting too many invitations to events that everybody who knows me knew I would not be able to get to anyway. I reconnected with people I hadn’t seen in ten, even twenty years, and at first I thought, Whoo! We’ve reconnected! No, we haven’t. We’ve been congealed in each other’s facebook collection. Hundreds of colourful little icons you don’t care about.
So I hit “deactivate account”. And was assaulted by a clever assortment of FB friends’ icons telling me: “We’ll miss you!” No, you won’t. You seriously won’t. You either see me every week, or you won’t even notice my icon is gone from your collection of four hundred. My cursor hovered over the “Yes, deactivate” for no longer than five seconds. Which is a damn short time for something so many people can’t seem to live without.
So, hello Blogspot! Cheers to random ramblings that people only have to read if they care! I promise I’ll keep a balance between rambling and art from now on. At least fifty-fifty.
6 thoughts on “Facebook off, Blogspot on.

  1. Welcome aboard!I am an ardent admirer of your LOTR and Silmarillion watercolours! I am looking forward to this blog! (At least you won't be unpunctual like me! I seem to forget to update… And I am only 16!)I can understand and empathise with the Facebook thing, I recently deactivated mine as well.. A blog is definitely more sincere.I am sure this blog will be awesomesauce, indeed!Regards,Inosha

  2. Hi kind Jenny!Glad to know you have returned back to Blogger lands… I truly comprehend the busy you are dealing with all things in your life, and being a mother also!But your work truly needs a recognition, so I will be posting an entry on my blog soon regarding your Rhyddion Chronicles, and your contribution to the celtic harp and legends world on behalf of your fine artPeace and light ☼

  3. Ziemlich genau der Grund warum ich mit Facebook nichts am Hut habe und haben werde!Ich hoffe du bleibst am Ball und läßt den Blog nicht wieder einschlafen ;)

  4. Geier: Keine Sorge! Im Moment war bloß tierisch viel mit Klausuren, Zeugnisnoten und auf KLassenfahrt war ich auch noch… kommen wieder bessere Zeiten. :)

    • There’s no problem with that. Other people may feel free to use it, who am I to tell them Facebook is bad? It just isn’t for me.

      In addition, the “share with Facebook” option wasn’t there when I wrote this post, back on my Blogspot account. I’ve since moved to WordPress, which has all these sharing options.

Leave a Reply

