Sketch – Jon Snow

This pic started out as a sketch in my Moleskine watercolour book while I watched over two subsequent classes sitting an exam. 2011 seems to be the year of rediscovered fandoms – first excessive Silmarillion, and now the first “A Song of Ice and Fire” artwork since 2003.
I really love the HBO series, it’s extremely well done – the term “epic” really fits here. But Kit Harington is totally not my Jon Snow, so I needed to remind myself of what mine looked like.
Funny that he turned out to look like — Peter Petrelli. It had never occurred to me, but Jon always looked like Milo Ventimiglia in my head even before I’d ever seen Milo Ventimiglia. So I allowed Jon to stay that way.
If you’ve only seen the series: he gets that scar later on in the books. Book three, I think.
Stay tuned for the watercolour…

One thought on “Sketch – Jon Snow

  1. so happy you have a blogger, i love this alternative to deviant art, makes things feel more personal…lovely work, i really admire your style. ive been studying recently, as ive been evaluating my own shoddy work and how to improve

Leave a Reply

