My Green Problem turns into my Green Period

So, after years of sparking puns aimed at me for avoiding the colour green in my paintings, I’m endeavouring to tackle that fear of mine. The funny thing is: This seems to be a common thing among artists. James Gurney calls it “The Green Problem“.

This year, I’ve set out to overcome some of my problems. Specifically this. It was weird to look at an overview of my galleries and see the entire spectrum of colours with the sole and very pronounced exception of green. Especially if you illustrate mostly Tolkien and still don’t grant Middle-earth at least a bit of green.

So now we’ve had vibrant, fresh greens:

 

 

 

 

 

 

sickly, evil greens:

 

 

 

 

 

 

and now I’m going for soothing, bright greens.

Still very much in progress and scared the hell out of me, but hey, you gotta face your fears. Especially the green ones.

And green is a lot more fun than I thought. Yay! :D

15 thoughts on “My Green Problem turns into my Green Period

    • Und plötzlich erinner ich mich, wie mein Lateinlehrer anno 1988 in die Klasse kam und die Adjektive einführte, so ohne Präambel: “Der hohe Baum… das große Haus… die grüne Jenny.”
      :D

    • The sword was never gone. In the scribble, it just sort of vanished in all the squiggly lines. ;)

      Maedhros presents a challenge to any green colour scheme, as his hair demands going almost full circle – at least it demands a complementary contrast. ;)

  1. I like the effect on Maglor’s robe; it looks like the fabric has a patterned weave.

    Poor Maedhros still has the scars from the previous painting! Nice continuity! Do you s’pose they’ll ever heal, though?

      • Well, I also figure that, even with the immortality of the Eldar, hanging for years on the side of a cliff, without food or water, would probably put a good damper on one’s physical healing capacity. So, if the previous painting occurred not long before they hung him up there, he well could have the same unhealed scars.

        • Well, the fact remains that there are about thirty-five years of hanging between those two images, whenever the Angband one took place. ;) I’ll probably have to address that somehow when I upload it.

  2. Ouch, the scars… :-(
    I want to hug him too (alternatively: snatch the sword and run away with it while they’re not paying attention ;-) )

      • You mean they’d chase me across half the world, defying all authorities, swearing terrible oaths and burning anything that floats?! All of them? You promise?
        Gimme that sword!

  3. I was confused for a moment when I hit the second painting, but I take it this “fear of greens” extends to cyan/teal/turquiose/other shades of blue-green as well? I have to say, the forest greens in the first one are excellent in my opinion and good on you for challenging yourself!

    • Anything turquoise or blue-green was a complete no-go for me for years. I mainly stuck to all that ochre to purple stuff with some ultramarine (which is a less scary blue as it’s rather on the violet side. :D

  4. I must say I like your approach to your “green-phobia”. I suppose we could call it “immersion therapy”, or something like that.
    I love the two brothers in this picture – Maglor, loving, caring and comforting, and Maedhros _accepting_ the caring and comfort from his brother. I suspect that he usually would have been too conscious of his status as the eldest of the brothers, and being responsible for the others, to just accept being held and comforted.
    I love Maglor’s luscious hair here! :)

  5. I love the colour green! :D I think it’s awesome you’re facing your artistic-fear of it. :) I love the look of these paintings. :D

Leave a Reply

