The Darkening of Valinor (and other odds and ends)

Firstly, I’m finally drawing again – there’s still a whole load of tests that need to be marked over the next month, but most of the other work is out of the way.

This is a commission about the Darkening of Valinor – this will be the centre piece, with Fëanor holding his dead father.

wp_finwe_headraised2

My latest print sale has been a huge success – thank you, all of you who have supported me by buying my prints! The print sale is still up; if you’ve been debating so far, you have until tomorrow to make up your mind. :)

And lastly: I’ve now got a tumblr! I’m still in the process of making up my mind what I’ll post where, but I can imagine that random sketches and wips will go to tumblr rather than my blog – unless it’s walkthroughs, of course. I’ll still do those here. :)

5 thoughts on “The Darkening of Valinor (and other odds and ends)

  1. This sketch is stunning! The dramatic but grief-ridden pose, the expressions on their faces…simply breathtaking. I look forward to seeing the painting!

    Oh, and I’m glad your print sale went well!

    Blessings,
    Elisabeth from America

  2. Poor Fëanor. I’d say he needs a hug except that I don’t think that would help.

    First his mother, then his father. It’s like everything bad that happened in Valinor happened to him. Despite his obvious faults, I’ve always found him incredibly sympathetic and oddly endearing with his five-year-old-esque jealousy of his younger siblings getting his father’s attention.

  3. Mir tut Feanor leid… dass muss der wohl schlimmste Moment in seinem Leben gewesen sein… zumindest einer Meinung nach.
    Das ist nicht, wie man seinen Vater wiedersehen will, nachdem man zu einer “Aussöhnung” aufgebrochen ist – zu der man nicht wollte…

Leave a Reply

