Second Punic War – Reloaded

So, I’m going to do something outrageous. I’m going to leave Tolkien – at least for the time being and a few side projects. You may now say, “Why Hannibal? Where’s all this coming from all of a sudden?”

I’ve been a fan of Hannibal since the late eighties. When I was thirteen to sixteen, I read everything on Hannibal I could get my hands on, and back in the day, I produced probably more Hannibal drawings than all the Tolkien work I have ever done combined. I haven’t revisited him since 1991, but old loves die hard.

I’ve now bought a stack of Osprey books (Punic Wars, Roman legions during the Republican times, Hellenistic armour, Iberian tribes around 220 BC), and I plan to go bonkers with all this. I’m giddy with excitement here.

First sketches of Hannibal, and some armour pieces of the right time period, worn by the peoples that Hannibal came into contact with):

wp_hannibal

Ooooooooooo can’t wait to do more…

And by the way, it’s August 2nd – happy 2229th anniversary of the Battle of Cannae!

Some more, from a day later. Getting the right mix of North-African and Eastern-Mediterranean, and groping towards fitting representations of different leaders of Hannibal’s army.

6 thoughts on “Second Punic War – Reloaded

  1. Have at it! Other than the legendary of Hannibal and the Elephants – I do not know anything of value either about the period or the people. I didn’t take Latin in school, which is where most people got their knowledge of the Punic Wars, and I have to say that I never really develped a specific interest. Something tells me that that is all about to change. ;) Thanks,Teacher! Do your stuff!

  2. The Punic Wars were one of my first loves too! I actually discovered Roman history when I was desperately casting about for something that would be just as satisfying as Tolkien. Other modern fantasy authors just didn’t cut it! Then I found Livy and Polybius, and everything was okay again.

Leave a Reply

