More Hannibal

I’m gradually warming to the idea of doing more with this – a Hannibal graphic novel; now that would have been a childhood dream of mine…

I’ve just come back from five days with my parents, which were largely spent drawing. First up, a dump of some sketches – Hannibal in the Alps, an age-up trial of Hannibal at 28 and at 64, an elephant, and a Numidian.

wp_hannibal-sketchdump

Hannibal says good-bye to his wife Imilce and child before he leaves for Rome. History never talks of her again and it’s likely that she and the child died before the war ended.

wp_abschied

In the command tent after midnight, Hannibal fine-tunes tactics. (If you’re familiar with ancient warfare, the battle line might look familiar – it is to become the Battle of Cannae. (“I think I’ll move the center forward – that will lure the Romans in…”)

wp_planung

Hannibal on horseback, on the march to Italy. I’m having an almost indecent amount of fun mixing and matching Greek armour, Iberian saddle and tack, Hellenistic head piece, and Iberian and Punic design elements on clothing.

The scar on his thigh was from the siege of Saguntum.

wp_zu-pferde

Hannibal, 15, sees his first Romans. They come to his father in Spain, demanding to know what the Carthaginians are doing in the country. Hannibal clearly feels this question is none of their business.

wp_roemer

13 thoughts on “More Hannibal

  1. Wonderful! I am facsinated with the details – I always am. The spirit lamp at Hannibal’s left elbow is wonderful! And the tactical details are perfect! And you did an elephant! Kewl!

    There is no better time than now to live the Dream! You want to do a Hannibal Graphic Novel?! I know how to get it published, I think! Just do it!

  2. Those look really great, I like the one of fifteen years old Hannibal wearing the cardiophylax the most as well as the one of the young family

    If a graphic novel is your dream go for it. For financing I have seen artist to get funding for their projects via kickstarter, http://www.kickstarter.com/ maybe it also works for you.

  3. You are making me learn some more of History. :)
    But, Jenny, would you mind if I ask why do you like Hannibal particularly? And how did you get to know him?
    I loved your designs of fabric, clothes. They seem very fluid, some you can tell that are a light cloth, some are heavy and thick. From those drawings, the one I liked the most was the farewell scene.

    • I don’t mind you answering, and I hope you don’t mind long answers. :D Stop reading at any point you like, I’ve asked myself the same question over the last weeks and have arrived at rather complicated conclusions. ;)

      I watched an Italian movie called “Hannibal” (from the sixties) when I was thirteen, and while I didn’t particularly fall for him in the movie (a forty-year-old stony-faced bloke who stopped attacking Rome because his girlfriend lived there), I was hooked enough to buy a novel a few weeks later: “I marched with Hannibal”. That one fascinated me (mainly because it was so different from the movie!) and I scoured the local libraries in search of books, starting with teen novels and ending up,two years later, with historical biographies and the sort of writings where you have ten lines of book and three quarters of the page of annotations.

      The man fascinated me. Here was a clear genius, clearly humane (for an ancient commander) in some aspects and with an anachronistic vision that could be gleaned from his deeds, and at the same time reviled and distorted beyond recognition by later historians, It was a truth that needed to be dug out. I devoted my entire youth to it. The more I read, the deeper I got in, and the more I realised, delightfully, that there were so many more layers to be found and stripped away.

      Today, I’m still fascinated with the fate of a man who spent his entire life trying to restore balance to the power structures of the Mediterranean, and whose actions to keep Rome contained within Italy (or, at least, leave Greece and Carthage in peace), and by his very own actions, ironically, had a major part in leaving Rom with an empire, because they took all Carthage’s former provinces as their own, and finally, chasing him, already an old man, to the ends of the earth, conquering this and that along the way.

      • Very interesting! It is not popular in my country to research historical characters as a hobby, there won’t be easily accessible novels about them for example (or at least I’ve never heard of anything like that before). Thus, most books about a commander would be strictly academic stuff.
        After you started talking about Hannibal I thought I had to do some research, because the name only recalled me of H. Lecter, hahaha. But afterall, it seems like you didn’t come to know him through school either. His life’s story is admirable, unfortunately, in my view, he commited some huge miscalculations that led Carthage to ruin. I’m not sure if he could do anything against it anyway. Yet he continued to fight until his death. Can’t find the words to describe this the way I would like to, but represents well a feeling that life’s only worth living if it is to be in freedom.

        Regards

  4. Oh these are lovely, especially the elephant study :-) and the faces in the last image of young Hannibal and the Romans; there is a definite face that you seem to prefer in your protagonists ;-)

  5. Wow! Those sketches are really great! Since I’ve discovered Hannibal “may” have crossed the Alps with his elephants near my family home, I’ve had the idea of illustrating a book about this historic fact. But after looking at your sketches, I feel like I have much more research to do if I want to give an accurate feeling to this project ^^

Leave a Reply

