A sorrowful meeting

wp_daughtersfolly_2col

Sorrowful was their meeting in Tasarinan; for Finrod was lost and Angrod too, and never more would Aegnor walk beside Andreth Saelind beneath the green leaves of spring.  ~(Paul Leone, the commissioner of this piece)

You’ll remember this one of Finarfin being reunited with his daughter Galadriel around the War of Wrath. I redid it as a commission – as you know, the old version was coffee, and it wouldn’t be a good idea to hang it on a wall! :)

On my latest workshop, so many people were doing terrific things with masking fluid, so that I decided to give that another go as well. I used it for a layered look of negative space throughout; here you can see how:

tut_galad

9 thoughts on “A sorrowful meeting

  1. It’s absolutely beautiful! I wish I could have this one framed in my wall :3
    What masking fluid have you used? I tried Winsor and Newton many years ago but it wasn’t pleasant experience.

  2. Wow, this is beautiful! The coffee version was great, but this is softer, more expressive, I think. Great job!

  3. Pingback: Tutorial: Painting with Acrylic Inks | Jenny's Sketchbook
  4. Pingback: Tutorial: Painting with Acrylic Inks | Jenny's Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

