Forth Eorlingas! and other forays into digital art

“And as if in answer there came from far away another note. Horns, horns, horns, in dark Mindolluin’s sides they dimly echoed. Great horns of the north wildly blowing. Rohan had come at last.”

Prints on Inprnt: https://www.inprnt.com/gallery/jenny.dolfen.5/forth-eorlingas/

Prints on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/listing/946396816/forth-eorlingas-signed-giclee-print

Want to look over my shoulder, be part of these images developing and progressing? https://www.patreon.com/jennydolfen

After almost twelve years of working purely traditionally, I started using Procreate on the iPad this year, and I’m liking the results more and more. As opposed to Photoshop, Procreate almost feels like traditional media, and it allows me to zoom in and do details that I haven’t been able to do since the onset of my eye disease in early 2018.

Traditional colouring, but with the lineart done in Procreate:

5 thoughts on “Forth Eorlingas! and other forays into digital art

  1. I love this piece! That moment when the Rohirrim appear just in time at the Pelennor Fields has been one of my favorite moments in the Lord of the Rings since I first read it at age 10. Your envisionment of it is so close to the mental image I’ve held for all those years.

    I just learned about Procreate and am looking forward to trying it out for my photo editing. I might even attempt to use it to draw with now that I’ve got a digital drawing tablet…

  2. Pingback: The Tolkien Society Awards 2022 Shortlist Announced | File 770
  3. Pingback: Nominowani do Tolkien Society Awards 2022 – Goniec Rohański
  4. Pingback: The Art of Middle-earth: The Elves, Fëanoreans, and Glücksdrachen of Jenny Dolfen – Gallery Review Europe
  5. Pingback: The Art of Middle-earth: The Elves, Fëanoreans, and Glücksdrachen of Jenny Dolfen – tor.com - Sephari Germany

Leave a comment