Roast rabbit – and an art revelation

I had a clear “where have you been all my life” moment yesterday. After using gouache quite satisfactorily on Gil-galad, not just for highlights but also for some rendering, I decided it was time for another stab at gouache.

Gouache is often described as opaque watercolour (and indeed, many languages use no separate word for it), and can either be applied thickly and even paste-like, much like oils, or in thinner washes, much like watercolour. I’d often thought about trying around with the former, mainly because I’d been using only the most transparent of watercolours in recent years and felt that going opaque was just the opposite of what I wanted. One and a half years ago, roughly, I bought a book on painting animals in gouache, and faithfully copied the examples. It worked, but I didn’t like it. My gouache tubes went to the bottom of my art cupboard again.

I’d been thinking about the medium again and wanted to take another shot at it, when I looked at some paintings in my “inspiration” folder whose technique had always baffled me and it hit me: They weren’t watercolours. They were thinly glazed gouache paintings.

Gouache has a pastelly, fuzzy quality to it that I’d never really given much thought.

I immediately decided to try that. My mother had asked for a picture of Sam Gamgee roasting a rabbit, and it looked like just the thing to try in gouache.

I painted very much the way I always do, except that I mixed in white instead of relying on the white of the paper. The white gouache made for a fuzziness that just turned blending colours into an absolute dream. The greenery in the background also just fell onto the paper effortlessly. The only thing I’ll do differently next time is that, instead of a thin blue shadow map, I’ll do a bolder, more neutral shadow line the last time, and drop in the blues later, while it’s still wet.

rabbit_col

I recorded the painting process and uploaded it as a timelapse here.

The original painting is available in my Etsy shop!

rabbit_framed

5 thoughts on “Roast rabbit – and an art revelation

  1. Beautiful illustration. So glad you decided to give gouache a second chance, especially when this is the outcome!

  2. I just watched the Youtube video, and now I can’t wait to try this! I’ve painted plenty of opaque gouache paintings but could never see the point of using gouache as thinly as watercolour. Now I do! Thanks :)

  3. Wow. I just stumbled here from your recent highlight in Discover and love your work. I’m an aspiring digital artist (with a looooonnnnggggg way to go) so the time lapse you shared will be a helpful addition to my toolkit. Looking forward to following.

Leave a comment