Fell and Fey

Some Silmarillion in between, though at least slightly inspired (as probably shows) by Star Wars – ever since I saw Kylo Ren’s costume, I felt Fëanor would really look great in a high collar and flowing coat-tails. I’ve put him in black and gold before, so that was something that always belonged to him, for me.

And though you might say otherwise, the hair is 100% Fëanor, too. ;)

feanor_col

Gold leaf (22 karat, a slightly paler colour than the 23 karat I usually use):

feanor_wip4

Watercolour, gouache, and gold leaf on Canson Montval, 42×30 cm (painting itself an inch smaller).

Original available here

Prints with gold leaf available here.

2 thoughts on “Fell and Fey

    • BTW – I do appreciate the dynamics here, as well. All of your characters are “real” because of it. Even the seated, quiet images have some sense of movement and progression, and it only adds to the “coming off the page” sense. Kudos for finding and using this technique.

Leave a comment