Fingon and Aredhel – mixed media experiment

I doodled a very nice Fingon and Aredhel into my sketchbook yesterday – with coloured pencil, which yielded some really charming results. I decided to try watercolour on top of those – only to realise that my coloured pencils were water soluble.

wp_brother-sister

So I printed the sketches out on watercolour paper again, and got to work, spraying the entire paper with water and then laying down a Quinachridone Gold wash.

tut_fa_1

A bit of flesh-tint with Burnt Sienna and Madder Red.

tut_fa_2

Some Ultramarine for the shadows.

tut_fa_3

More reddish and bluish tints. I really like this effect. Maybe next time I try this technique, I won’t do it on a character with dark hair.

tut_fa_4

Painting the hair with Ultramarine, Madder, and rather a lot of Shadow Violet.

tut_fa_5

Some final touches with paint, and later some more with Polychromos and white gel pen.

 

Finished:

wp_aredhel2_col

 

wp_fingon2_col

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Fingon and Aredhel – mixed media experiment

  1. These turned out beautifully, Jenny! Some of your best studies come from your idle sketches! Excellent. ;)

  2. What a happy “mistake,” because these are your loveliest portraits yet! Keep mixing those media.

  3. These pictures are beautiful, as well as the colors! I like your mixed media effect. Fingon is my favorite character, and I love the masculine and noble way you’ve portrayed him (girly elves are truly horrendous). Aredhel is beautiful too, but she also looks strong and proud. Great work!

    Blessings,
    Miss Potter

  4. I thought the sketches were wonderful (and reminiscent of certain Michaelangelo cartoons with the red line-work) but the coloured versions are simply gorgeous! :)

  5. I just adore your Fingon, and I’m curious – do you ever plan to redo your Nirnaeth Arnoediad painting? I would love to see what you’d do with that scene now, since all your recent paintings have been simply incredible. Or maybe some other take on the Nirnaeth …

Leave a comment