Harp lessons

This commission really took me some failed attempts – I couldn’t get two people and a harp to work without reference.

wp_mag+elr_sk

It only worked when I grabbed my husband and daughter and had them pose for a few reference shots. My daughter’s cutely contorted feet then made it into the drawing. The harp ought to go between Elrond’s legs, I know – but hey, Maglor still has a lot to teach him. And I really, really had to keep those legs.

wp_maglor-elrond

The lineart:

wp_maglor-elrond_ln2

And finally, a light watercolour wash (that still took age to dry last night – the humidity was so high that it took over an hour. I had to resort to the hair dryer!)

wp_maglor-elrond_sh

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Harp lessons

  1. Interesting especially giving your other post about reference versus imagination. Seems to me that using models, live or stock, to help you get a pose right, draws (so to speak) from both camps.

    • It is very much a collaborative process between reference shot and idea! Of necessity – even if I had harps, embroidered gowns and that kind of wig handy, my husband would prefer to break a leg to donning them.

      • Just think, then he would be in sufficient agony to help you with the wounded-Maedhros portrraits, poor, long-suffering husband that he is.

  2. I must say, because I do not believe I’ve said it yet, that I like your Maglor very much, and that now he is pretty much my Maglor as well… This is such a gentle picture; that light watercolour wash certainly helps to keep that quality.

  3. Beautiful. I love it when you draw Elves with harps. I play the harp, mostly because of Tolkien. Mine’s a lot smaller though. Have you ever played one, Jenny?

  4. That is such a sweet picture! I love the gentleness of Maglor’s face and hands, and the innocence of Elrond! Thank you for sharing this pic with us!

    Blessings,
    Miss Potter

  5. What a lovely picture! I know it is only half finished now, and I can hardly wait to see what it will be like when you are done with it! :D

  6. I love that you drew these 2 together. So often, I feel, people forget that Elrond and Elros were raised by many great elves.

Leave a comment