All the others, gone

A missing moment that I hadn’t even seen until now – we all know that Finarfin came briefly to Beleriand to lead the Noldor of Valinor into battle against Morgoth in the War of Wrath.

Has it ever occurred to anyone how painful it must have been to finally be reunited with his daughter – and learn that his four sons, his granddaughter, his brothers, all his nephews and niece were dead, dead in that land for which they had set out six hundred years before, full of hope of glory and freedom…

Image

Galadriel looks rather younger and more vulnerable here than I usually see her – even in the rebellion of the Noldor six hundred years previously – but then, this whole concept of parents in their mid-thousands and their children in their early thousands is hard to grasp for us mortals…

Lineart:

Finished:

And I went ahead and made a coffee painting tutorial. Mostly because I really haven’t found any online that went past “Make coffee. Paint picture”. There are so many interesting things going on with coffee that it was really worth it explaining them.

Coffee texture from: http://fav.me/d3edyhg Coffee beans are a free stock image.

16 thoughts on “All the others, gone

  1. The result is just stunning. I tried to paint with coffee once but I’ve never managed to do it with that much subtlety and skill.
    This also reminds me of the Mona Latte, I hope you don’t mind me leaving the link here in case anyone is interested:

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/culturepicturegalleries/6553641/Coffee-Creations-famous-paintings-recreated-with-espresso-by-Karen-Eland.html?image=3

    The same artist even managed to paint with beer:

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddrink/foodanddrinkpicturegalleries/9071635/American-artist-Karen-Eland-creates-pictures-with-beer-instead-of-paint.html

  2. Glorious subject, wonderful image. And your tutorial is brilliant; enough information to guide us and inspiring enough for us to be tempted to try this. Thank you so much.

    Please could I possibly feature a link to this tutorial on my blog? I’d be very grateful.

  3. DANKE – ganz wunderbar.
    Kann ich mein ganz normales Aquarellpapier in meinen Drucker geben? Brauche ich spezielle Tinte? Im Moment drucke ich mit Canon Pixma – logischerweise in meinem Canon iP4600 Drucker.
    Ich mag Deinen Stil mehr und mehr!!!

  4. Hallo!
    Vielen, vielen Dank für dieses Tutorial! Es kam auch genau zum Perfekten Zeitpunkt für mich, ich war auf der Suche nach Farben und meine sind einfach nicht hier (wenn man an zwei Orten wohnt hat man irgendwie nie alles zur Hand), aber Kaffee haben wir im Haus
    Aber ich hätte noch eine Frage… ähm hast Du den Kaffee in unterschiedlichen “Verdünnungen” angerührt, quasi wie in einer Palette oder mit lediglich den zwei oben gezeigten Ansätzen gearbeitet?

    Was ich schon ewig loswerden wollte: auch noch vielen Dank afür, dass du deine wundervollen Bilder nicht versteckst, ebensowenig wie deine älteren Arbeiten…

  5. wonderful! i linked your blog and your page of deviantart on my blog! I hope you don’t mind! ;) I love your tutorial about painting with coffee!

  6. What a flawless piece of work. The beautiful flow of the hair, the folds in the fabric of Galadriel’s dress, the expressions on their faces. I know I shouldn’t have, but I always pictured Finarfin as, well… a bit of a wimp, but this just proves me wrong a billion times!

    • Finarfin is that tragic hero: a peaceful and sophisticated leader in a time that favoured fierce warriors.

      But well, his part in the Silmarillion is rather slim. :D

  7. Pingback: Recycling Coffee Grinds | Finders Keepers
  8. Pingback: Inspiração – Arte com Café «

Leave a comment