As little might be thought

“For Maglor took pity upon Elros and Elrond, and he cherished them, and love grew after between them, as little might be thought; but Maglor’s heart was sick and weary with the burden of the dreadful oath.”

(The Silmarillion, “Of Eärendil and the War of Wrath”)

aslittle_col

Watercolour and gouache on Canson Montval cold-pressed paper, A3 size.

 

A re-run of an old sketch that never took off, so I was really glad when I was asked to revisit it as a commission! My son kindly modelled both Elrond and Elros. Don’t ask me which is which. XD

12 thoughts on “As little might be thought

  1. The fact that this scene is on the shore breaks my heart because it recalls Maglor’s fate… beautiful, beautiful piece! Keep up the good work!

  2. This is so sweet. You’ve created such a lovely feeling with the soft colours. I want to climb into the picture, take Maedhros’ hand and lead him into the circle with the twins to hear what Maglor might be saying. :)

  3. I love this so much. This is my favourite part of all the books, I think (including the hobbit and the lord of the rings!). And for some reason, I always imagined them ending up living by the sea- so this painting fits my idea of this time perfectly.

  4. This is so beautiful! The twins are so cute, and I love how Maglor looks. It’s so great how he’s connecting with the boys. :D *will love this picture forever*

  5. Wow, I missed so many new paintings by you now that you no longer update dA. I really have to remember checking here more often!

    Everything is gorgeous, but this piece particularly resonates with me. Mostly because it reminds me of holidays in Brittany, which I remember as the happiest days of the past years – but also because I love this part of the story (brief as it is!), and because of the beautiful design and masterful execution. I’ve always loved and admired your art, but I have to admit that it seems to have grown even better in the past years, and I’m as amazed as I am jealous! ;)
    Can’t wait for the artbook, and for many new pieces!

    ~Lyra

Leave a comment